Posted by: Homa-Bay-Asego Category: News Comments: 0

Elizabeth Ayoo is the new Speaker of Homa Bay County Assembly.

After a much anticipated exercise, the search for a county speaker that was characterized by intense competition and massive lobbying yielded Homa Bay the first woman speaker. It was Hon Elizabeth Atieno Ayoo who emerged as the winner in the second round garnering 31 votes against her close competitor John Apollo who obtained 29 votes.

While making her first address to the house, she called for cooperation and unity amongst the MCAs to ensure that they achieve on their mandate. Citing the roles of the county assembly, she promised to provide oversight on the Executive so as to ensure that all resources set aside for the county of Homa Bay are properly utilized.

The new speaker vowed to approve plans for development agenda as articulated in the county integrated development plan (CIDP) and ensure its full implementation.

She further pledged to oversee an improvement in the livelihood of the people of Homa Bay.

“We will make laws that will ensure implementation of development projects and proper utilization of funds.” said Ms. Ayoo.

Members of the County Assembly elects were earlier during the day sworn in at the chambers by the clerk thus putting up a 60 member legislation team.

Share this post